iTunes is a giant bag of suck

It baffles my why Apple doesn’t rewrite and replace it. I mean, modal dialogs?? When I’m adding music? WTF IS THIS, THE 90s???

I keep trying to quit using it, but nothing else works in a good enough way that I’d be satisfied. Ecoute comes the closest, but it’s got a few subtle issues that stop me from using it primarily.

I mean, I’d still use it to sync my iPad and all that noise, but, for music playing? I’d fondly remember my WinAMP days.

My “must have” features for a replacement? It’s not a long list.

  • Global shortcuts (configurable) for “play”, “pause”, “next” and “prev”
  • Browse by artist or album
  • WHEN I DOUBLE CLICK ON SOMETHING PLAY IN TRACK ORDER
  • ALWAYS PLAY IN TRACK ORDER UNLESS I SAY NOT TOO
  • TRACK ORDER!! (Ecoute plays in alphabetical order, sometimes)
  • A separate play queue and browse window, so browsing doesn’t screw up what’s playing.

That’s really it.

Please, lazy web, hear my prayers.

[Update]

Well, maybe Enqueue is what I’m looking for. I’m missing the fancy playlist controls, but….that may be it and I can fake that.

Leave a Reply

